add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

How does the internet work?

piemancoder

41 months ago

I'm a networking noob, and I've never understood how the internet worked. How do modems, routers, switches, etc. work and what do they do,?

Comments

• 40 months ago
  • 1 point

Thats a freaking awesome link.. (and well old looking at it)

• 40 months ago
  • 2 points

Here are the things that you will probably need to know to better understand contemporary residential Internet service:

• ISP: Internet Service Provider. This is the company that provides a connection from your home computer/network to the rest of the Internet. These days, this is usually your local phone company (DSL) or cable company (DOCSIS).
  • Modem: The thing that connects your home computer/network to your ISP's network. Your ISP will often provide you with a modem (sometimes for free, sometimes not) to connect to their network.
  • Router: A thing that decides where to send network packets based on embedded addressing information. A router will look at the address in a packet and say (for example), "Oh, this goes to Google. The ISP knows exactly where that is, so I'll send it to them to handle." Routing for home networks is usually very simple as there are usually only two regions to think about (stuff inside my home network, stuff outside my home network).